Skip to content

Australia: Stop press — the religious curriculum now includes sex education!

August 29, 2013

Or, how losing your own moral compass doesn’t stop you from lecturing other people about theirs.

“I had this huge need to feel loved,” the sobbing woman told a Sydney court.

The former northern beaches high school religion and maths teacher took that need to a 15-year-old student, having sexual encounters with him in her house and car several times between June and August 2008….

“It was a distorted view of what I thought I needed to feel loved,” the 51-year-old, who cannot be identified, told the NSW District Court on Thursday.

“I took the victim’s approaches to me for [help with] maths and I read them totally inappropriately . . . I read them as somebody loving me or seeing me as someone of value.”

The woman, who had been a teacher for more than 25 years, said she was depressed at the time because her marriage had broken down. Her husband didn’t love her, but liked her “being a housewife”, she said.

SMH

Why do I get this feeling that he was religious too?

Comments are closed.

