Skip to content
Tags

Turkey: ‘I felt freedom when I took off my headscarf’

May 10, 2013

Shame about the death threats, though.

The activist, Rabia Kazan, a columnist for 5 years in Ortadoğu Gazetesi, which is a nationalist Turkish newspaper, and the author of a book titled “Tahran Melekleri” (Angels of Tehran) in which she reviewed temporary marriage in Iran, (a sort of legal prostitution) has been receiving serious death threats from the Fanatic Islamic Community after making her decision to not wear a headscarf, which she was forced to wear by her mother in her childhood. Having gone to the Turkish Police Department, Rabia Kazan declared.

“The headscarf was a decision of my mother and when I uncovered my head, I felt freedom for the first time in my life.”

Rabia Kazan.

Comments are closed.

