Skip to content

US: Jesus — was he married?

September 20, 2012

Not gay, or female, but married?

A Harvard historian has identified a faded, fourth-century scrap of papyrus she calls “The Gospel of Jesus’s Wife.” One line of the torn fragment of text purportedly reads: “Jesus said to them, ‘My wife …'” The following line states, “she will be able to be my disciple.”

The finding was announced to the public today (Sept. 18) by Karen King, a historian of early Christianity, author of several books about new Gospel discoveries and the Hollis professor of divinity at Harvard Divinity School. King first examined the privately owned fragment in 2011, and has since been studying it with the help of a small group of scholars.

LiveScience

Or was he just working up a comedy routine?

“My wife, she’s so fat, she needs an abacus to count her chins. She climbed on Balaam’s ass to ride to Jerusalem, and it said ‘Sorry, two of you will have to get off!’ I told her she could be a disciple if she lost forty pounds, and she said ‘Why don’t I lose fifty and become a vestal virgin?’ I don’t get no respect!”

Comments are closed.

