Skip to content

US: My client is a loony…

May 19, 2012
Our new line is a big seller with lawyers defending Catholic priests

Our new line is very popular with lawyers defending Catholic priests

… therefore I will cater to his fetish.

Chicago Tribune

Attorney Cheryl Bormann… is defending Walid bin Attash, one of five top al-Qaida operatives on trial in Guantanamo Bay for allegedly conspiring in the Sept. 11, 2001, terrorist attacks. The five men, who have come to be known collectively as the Gitmo 5, were arraigned there Saturday.

It was then that Bormann gained national notice, and a measure of criticism, for appearing in court in traditional Muslim clothing that left only her face showing and for asking one woman on the government team to consider dressing more modestly so her client could focus on the proceedings….

For her, the issue is a simple one of respecting the religious and cultural beliefs of a client. She said that since she was appointed to bin Attash’s case last year, she has always dressed conservatively out of deference to a client who believes he will violate a religious tenet if he looks at a woman who is immodestly dressed.

“My client has never seen my hair, has never seen my arms, has never seen my legs,” Bormann said in an interview Monday. “All of the defense counsel, all of the guards and everybody who works in Guantanamo Bay camp has seen me dressed like this. … I never thought in my wildest dreams that this would become an issue.”

Maybe your dreams should get out more.

Women are people too: deal with it.

Comments are closed.

